Skip to main content

Causing or Allowing the Death or Serious Harm of a Child or Vulnerable Adult
(HKLRC Consultation Paper)

On 16 May 2019, the Causing or Allowing the Death of a Child or Vulnerable Adult Sub-committee of the Law Reform Commission (LRC) released a consultation paper making preliminary proposals for reform of the law relating to the criminal liability of parents, carers and others when children or vulnerable adults die or are seriously harmed as a result of abuse or neglect while in their care.

The Sub-committee recommends the introduction of a new offence of “failure to protect a child or vulnerable person where the child's or vulnerable person’s death or serious harm results from an unlawful act or neglect”. The Sub-committee further recommends that the Government should undertake a review of the current maximum penalty applicable under section 27 of the Offences against the Person Ordinance (Cap 212) (OAPO), with a view to increasing it as appropriate. Some more general observations on matters concerning the protection of children and vulnerable adults which it wishes to bring to the attention of the Government were also set out in the paper.

In family violence and other cases where the victims are children or vulnerable adults, a particular evidential problem can arise for the prosecution in trying to prove beyond reasonable doubt which of the victim’s carers or members of the victim’s household committed ‘the unlawful act’ which was the immediate cause of the victim’s death or serious harm. The situation is often further complicated by the suspects’ silence, or by their mutual accusations, and by the silence of other family members in their attempts to protect the suspects.

In determining the content of the reforms recommended in the consultation paper, the Sub-committee carefully considered the law and practice in many other common law jurisdictions. In particular, the Sub-committee has reviewed in detail the significant legislative and judicial developments that have taken place in three jurisdictions: the United Kingdom, South Australia and New Zealand, which each introduced a unique type of criminal offence to deal with these “which of you did it” cases.

In line with these developments, the Sub-committee recommends the introduction of a new offence of “failure to protect a child or vulnerable person where the child's or vulnerable person’s death or serious harm results from an unlawful act or neglect”. This offence would impose criminal liability on those who fail to take steps to protect a child (under 16 years of age) or a vulnerable person (over 16 years of age) from death or serious harm caused by an unlawful act or neglect in circumstances where:

- the defendant owed a duty of care to the victim, or was a member of the victim’s household and had frequent contact with the victim;

- the defendant was, or ought to have been, aware of the risk of serious harm to the victim;

- the defendant's failure to take steps to protect the victim from harm was, in the circumstances, so serious that a criminal penalty is warranted.

In addition to applying in both fatal and non-fatal cases, and to both child and vulnerable adult victims, the Sub-committee intends that the scope of the offence would be wide enough to apply in both domestic and institutional care situations.

The proposed offence carries high maximum penalties for both fatal and non-fatal cases, ie:

- 20 years’ imprisonment in cases where the victim dies; and

- 15 years’ imprisonment where the victim suffers serious harm (to cover, for example, cases where although the victim survived their injuries, these were so severe that the victim was left in a permanent vegetative state).

As liability for the proposed offence is based on the defendant’s failure to take steps to protect the victim, a key feature of the offence is that it would not be necessary for the prosecution to prove in a particular case whether the defendant was the perpetrator of the harm or a culpable bystander. Nonetheless, the Sub-committee considers that the list of elements which must be proved by the prosecution beyond reasonable doubt before the offence applies represents a high evidentiary threshold for the prosecution to achieve.

The Sub-committee would welcome views, comments and suggestions on any issues discussed in the consultation paper. The consultation period will end on 16 August 2019.

Press Release (PDF) (MS Word)
Executive Summary (PDF) (MS Word)
Consultation Paper (PDF) (MS Word)

Important Notices

跳到主要內容

導致或任由兒童或易受傷害成年人死亡或受到嚴重傷害個案
(香港法律改革委員會諮詢文件)

法律改革委員會(法改會)轄下的導致或任由兒童或易受傷害成年人死亡個案小組委員會於2019年5月16日發表諮詢文件,就改革在兒童或易受傷害成年人受父母、照顧者或其他人照顧期間因虐待或忽略而死亡或受到嚴重傷害的個案中,關乎父母、照顧者或其他人刑事法律責任的法律,提出初步建議。

小組委員會建議訂立一項新罪行,即“在因非法作為或忽略導致兒童或易受傷害人士死亡或受嚴重傷害的個案中沒有保護該兒童或易受傷害人士”。小組委員會又建議,政府應檢討《侵害人身罪條例》(第212章)第27條適用的現行最高刑罰,以期適當提高刑罰。諮詢文件亦就關乎保護兒童及易受傷害成年人的事宜,列述若干一般性的觀察,希望政府加以注意。

在受害人是兒童或易受傷害成年人的家庭暴力及其他個案中,控方嘗試在無合理疑點的情況下證明受害人的照顧者或受害人所屬住戶的成員當中是誰作出“非法作為”,直接導致受害人死亡或受嚴重傷害時,可能會出現特定的舉證問題。疑犯保持緘默或互相指控,以及其他家庭成員為了維護疑犯而保持緘默,往往令到情況更加複雜。

在決定諮詢文件所建議的改革內容時,小組委員會仔細考慮了多個其他普通法司法管轄區的法律和常規。尤其是,小組委員會詳細審視了英國、南澳大利亞及新西蘭在立法及司法上的重大發展,這三個司法管轄區分別訂立了一個獨特類別的刑事罪行,以處理這些“你們當中是誰幹的?”的案件。

因應上述發展,小組委員會建議訂立一項新罪行,即“在因非法作為或忽略導致兒童或易受傷害人士死亡或受嚴重傷害的個案中沒有保護該兒童或易受傷害人士”。這項罪行會在以下情況下,對沒有採取步驟保護兒童(16歲以下)或易受傷害人士(16歲以上),免其因非法作為或忽略而死亡或受嚴重傷害的人,施加刑事法律責任︰

- 被告人對受害人負有照顧責任,或是受害人所屬住戶的成員,並與受害人有頻密接觸;

- 被告人已察覺或應已察覺有導致受害人受嚴重傷害的風險;

- 被告人沒有採取步驟保護受害人免受傷害,其嚴重程度在有關情況下足以支持施以刑罰。

這項罪行同時適用於致命案件及非致命案件,並同時適用於兒童受害人及易受傷害成年受害人,而除此之外,小組委員會還建議這項罪行的適用範圍應足以同時涵蓋家居及院舍照顧兩類情況。

建議制定的罪行對致命案件及非致命案件的最高刑罰十分嚴厲,即︰

- 如受害人死亡,可處監禁20年;及

- 如受害人受嚴重傷害,可處監禁15年(以涵蓋以下個案例子︰受害人雖然倖存,但所受傷害嚴重至令受害人永遠陷於植物人狀態)。

由於這項建議制定的罪行的法律責任是基於被告人沒有採取步驟保護受害人而產生,這項罪行的主要特點是,控方無須在特定個案中證明被告人是造成傷害者,或是須負罪責的旁觀者。然而,小組委員會認為控方必須在無合理疑點的情況下證明一系列元素存在,這項罪行才會適用,對於控方來說,這代表了須達到高舉證門檻。

小組委員會歡迎各界對諮詢文件中所討論的議題提出意見、評論及建議。諮詢期將於2019年8月16日結束。

新聞稿 (PDF) (MS Word)
諮詢文件摘要 (PDF) (MS Word)
諮詢文件 (PDF) (MS Word)

重要告示