Skip to main content

Archives Law
(HKLRC Consultation Paper)

On 6 December 2018, the Archives Law Sub-committee of the Law Reform Commission published a consultation paper to invite public views on whether reform of the current public records management regime is needed; and if so, what kind of reform is to be preferred .

At present, government records and archives management are regulated under an administrative regime under which the Government Records Service is the central records management and service agency.

The Sub-committee has studied the law and practice of a number of jurisdictions, in particular, Australia, England, Ireland, New Zealand and Singapore. A comparison reveals that almost all other jurisdictions, including these five studied more closely by the Sub-Committee, have in place an archives law of varying breadths and depths.

The Sub-committee considers there are considerations in favour of the enactment of an archives law in Hong Kong, but there are also practical concerns over its implementation. On balance, the Sub-committee’s provisional views are that it does see a case for the introduction of an archives law to further strengthen the management, protection and preservation of public records and archives in Hong Kong.

The Sub-committee believes that government records form an integral part of the community’s shared heritage that belongs to all, and it therefore seeks to engage as much of the public as possible in this consultation exercise by asking various consultation questions, apart from setting out its observations and provisional views.

The Sub-committee would welcome views, comments and suggestions on any issues discussed in the consultation paper. The consultation period will last till 5 March 2019.

Executive Summary (PDF) (MS Word)
Consultation Paper (PDF) (MS Word)

Important Notices

跳到主要內容

檔案法
(香港法律改革委員會諮詢文件)

法律改革委員會轄下的檔案法小組委員會於2018年12月6日發表諮詢文件,就現行公共檔案管理制度是否需要改革,如認為需要的話,則採用何種改革方案為佳,諮詢公眾意見。

現時,政府檔案和歷史檔案的管理由行政制度規管,在此制度下的中央檔案管理和服務機關為政府檔案處。

小組委員會研究過數個司法管轄區的法律和作業方法,特別是澳大利亞、英格蘭、愛爾蘭、新西蘭和新加坡。經過比較後發現,幾乎所有其他司法管轄區,包括小組委員會詳加研究的上述五個司法管轄區都實施不同廣度和深度的檔案法。

小組委員會認為一方面既有支持在香港制定檔案法的考慮因素,但另一方面在實施上亦有實際要關注的事項。經衡量後,小組委員會的初步看法是確有理據支持訂立檔案法,以進一步加強香港公共檔案及歷史檔案的管理、保護和保存工作。

小組委員會相信政府檔案是構成屬全民擁有的社會共享遺產不可或缺的一部分,因此小組委員會除了臚列其觀察和初步看法之外,還提出多條諮詢問題,盡量讓更多的公眾人士參與是次諮詢工作。

小組委員會歡迎各界對諮詢文件中所討論的任何議題提出意見、評論及建議。諮詢期將持續至2019年3月5日為止。 文件。

諮詢文件摘要 (PDF) (MS Word)
諮詢文件 (PDF) (MS Word)

重要告示