Skip to main content

Access to Information
(HKLRC Consultation Paper)

On 6 December 2018, the Access to Information Sub-committee of the Law Reform Commission published a consultation paper to invite public views on whether reform of the current regime on access by the public to information held by the Government is needed; and if so, what kind of reform is to be preferred.

At present, access to government-held information is based on an administrative regime set out in the Code on Access to Information ("the Code") which has been in operation since 1995.

In deciding the key features of the proposed access to information regime, the Sub-committee has studied the law and practice of relevant common law jurisdictions, and found that the public's need to obtain more information about public bodies should be balanced with other types of rights including privacy and data-protection rights, and third-party rights.

The Sub-committee’s provisional views are that although the existing Code is effective and cost-efficient, legislation should be introduced to implement an access to information regime with statutory backing. The proposed legislative regime would have exempt information categorized into absolute and qualified exemptions, like most common law jurisdictions. It is also the Sub-committee's tentative recommendation that the proposed regime should have certain review and appeal stages.

The Sub-committee would welcome views, comments and suggestions on any issues discussed in the consultation paper. The consultation period will end on 5 March 2019.

Executive Summary (PDF) (MS Word)
Consultation Paper (PDF) (MS Word)

Important Notices

跳到主要內容

公開資料
(香港法律改革委員會諮詢文件)

法律改革委員會轄下的公開資料小組委員會於2018年12月6日發表諮詢文件,就公眾索取政府所持資料的現行制度是否需要改革,以及如認為需要的話,則採用何種改革方案為佳,邀請公眾提出意見。

現時,公開政府所持資料乃按照《公開資料守則》(“《守則》”)所載的行政安排進行,而《守則》由1995年起開始運作。

為了決定建議中公開資料機制的主要特點,小組委員會研究過有關普通法司法管轄區的法律和作業方法,發現公眾獲取更多公共機構資料的需要,應該與其他種類的權利取得平衡,該等權利包括私隱權、資料保障權及第三者權利。

小組委員會的初步看法是,雖然現行的《守則》有效及符合成本效益,但亦應該通過立法實施具有法定地位的公開資料制度。建議中的法定機制會把獲豁免資料分為絶對豁免和有限制豁免,跟大多數普通法司法管區的做法一樣。此外,小組委員會初步建議擬議的制度應設有若干覆核及上訴階段。

小組委員會歡迎各界對諮詢文件中所討論的任何議題提出意見、評論及建議。諮詢期將於2019年3月5日結束。 諮詢文件。

諮詢文件摘要 (PDF) (MS Word)
諮詢文件 (PDF) (MS Word)

重要告示