Skip to main content

The Commission is chaired by the Secretary for Justice who, together with the Chief Justice, decides which aspects of the law should be referred to the Commission for consideration. These will normally be chosen from suggestions made by members of the Commission itself, the legal profession, the public at large, or the Administration.

Since its establishment in 1980, the Commission has considered a wide variety of subjects of varying complexity and breadth. There are no hard and fast rules as to which subjects are suitable for referral to the Commission, but a number of factors will usually be considered by the Secretary for Justice and the Chief Justice:

  • Is there a problem or shortcoming in the law of general application? The problem or shortcoming should be identifiable, and should not be one which relates only to a particular individual or case.

  • Are the issues raised more ones of policy than law? As a broad rule of thumb, a subject is not likely to be best suited for consideration by the Commission if the issues it raises are essentially ones of Government policy, rather than law or legal policy. While it would be unlikely, for instance, that the Commission would be asked to consider questions of taxation or immigration, as these are both areas where Government policy concerns predominate, that does not mean that the Commission could not be asked to consider the general policy issues raised in respect of a subject such as, say, the legal age of majority.

  • Could the subject be more effectively considered elsewhere? Where there is a specialist body with expertise in the particular area of law in question, then the subject is unlikely to be referred to the Commission. So, for instance, the Standing Committee on Company Law Reform, or the Court Users' Committees, would be better placed than the Commission to consider company law or court procedural matters respectively.

  • Is there a realistic prospect of implementation? The purpose of the Commission's work is to improve the law. Its resources are limited, and it would be wasteful of those resources to embark on a project if it was unlikely that any resulting proposals would be implemented. The Commission would therefore be unlikely to consider an area of law where the Government had clearly indicated that it saw no need for change.

In addition to these factors, the Secretary for Justice and the Chief Justice need to consider the question of timing, and decide when the Commission is able to take on a new project.

跳到主要內容

法改會由律政司司長擔任主席。律政司司長聯同終審法院首席法官決定哪些法律範疇應交由法改會研究。有關課題通常從法改會成員、法律界、公眾或政府所提出的建議中挑選。

法改會自1980年成立以來研究過很多課題,課題的複雜程度和研究範圍的大小各有不同。雖然沒有一套明確和易於應用的準則決定甚麼課題適宜交予法改會研究,但律政司司長和終審法院首席法官通常會考慮以下因素﹕

  • 有關法律是否有一個普遍存在的問題或不足之處? 有關問題或不足之處應該是可以被指明的,而且應該並非只與某一個人或某一宗個案有關。

  • 涉及的議題是否屬於政策方面的議題多於法律方面的議題? 作為一個粗略籠統的準則,如果某個課題主要涉及政府政策方面的議題而不涉及法律或法律政策方面的議題,法改會便很可能不是研究該課題的最適當組織。舉例說,法改會不大可能要研究稅務或入境事務的問題,因為這兩個範疇都是由政府的政策主導,但這並不表示法改會不能研究某個課題(例如法定的成年歲數)所涉及的一般性的政策議題。

  • 由其他組織研究有關課題是否更有效? 若有一個專門的組織對有關課題所涉及的法律有深入的認識,這個課題便不大可能會交由法改會研究。例如公司法改革常務委員會或法庭使用者委員會便較法改會適合研究公司法或法庭的程序。

  • 是否真的有機會落實改革建議? 法改會的工作目標是改良法律,但是它的資源有限,如果它就某個課題所可能作出的改革建議不大可能會得以落實,研究該課題便會浪費它的資源。法改會因此不大可能會研究政府已表明沒有改革需要的法律範疇。

此外,律政司司長和終審法院首席法官還需要考慮時間問題,以決定法改會何時能夠研究新的項目。