Skip to main content

Where a sub-committee of the Law Reform Commission is appointed to consider a reference, one of the qualified lawyers from the Secretariat services the sub-committee as secretary and researcher. In view of the need to be in contact with the community at large, the sub-committees often have a substantial proportion of non-lawyer members. Since the Commission was established in 1980, more than 467 individuals have served on one or more of the Commission's sub-committees, all on a voluntary basis. Members of sub-committees are appointed by the Secretary for Justice.

Details of the work and membership of each of the Commission's current sub-committees are noted below.