Skip to main content

The Secretary for Justice (who chairs the Commission), the Chief Justice and the Law Draftsman are ex officio members of the Commission. In addition, the Chief Executive appoints a number of other members, one of whom is usually a Judge of the High Court or the Court of Final Appeal. The remaining members include not only academics and practising lawyers, but also prominent non-lawyer members of the community. To-date, 78 individuals have served as members of the Commission since its establishment in 1980.

The Hong Kong Law Reform Commission is unusual among law reform agencies in including non-lawyers in its membership. While much law reform work involves technical legal questions, there are few areas in which extra-legal considerations do not also apply. By containing within its ranks leaders from a variety of fields, the Commission hopes to approach law reform with both the requisite legal expertise and with the experience of the wider community. This principle is carried through to the method of working on individual projects.

The current members of the Law Reform Commission are:

  • Mr Rimsky Yuen Kwok keung, SC, JP, Secretary for Justice (Chairman)
  • Hon Chief Justice Geoffrey Ma, GBM, Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal
  • The Hon Mr Justice Robert Tang Kwok-ching, SBS, Permanent Judge of the Court of Final Appeal
  • Ms Theresa Johnson, Law Draftsman
  • Ms Christine Fang, BBS, JP, former Chief Executive of Hong Kong Council of Social Service
  • Mr Eugene Fung, SC
  • Professor Christopher Gane, Dean of the Faculty of Law, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Professor Michael Hor, Dean of the Faculty of Law, The University of Hong Kong
  • Ms Angela Lee, BBS, JP, former Consultant with the law firm of Baker & McKenzie
  • Mr Allan Leung, Partner, Hogan Lovells
  • Professor Lin Feng, Associate Dean of School of Law, City University of Hong Kong
  • Mrs Eleanor Ling, SBS, JP, former Adviser to Jardine Matheson Ltd
  • Mr Robert Y H Pang, SC

Ms Michelle Ainsworth, Principal Government Counsel, is the Commission Secretary.

LRC members

From left to right (front) Mr Eugene Fung, SC; Mr Paul Wan; Hon Chief Justice Geoffrey Ma, CJ; Hon Rimsky Yuen, SC, SJ; Hon Mr Justice Tang, PJ; Ms Angela Lee; (back) Ms Christine Fang; Mr Robert Pang, SC; Prof. Michael Hor; Prof. Christopher Gane; Prof. Lin Feng; Mr Allan Leung; Ms Michelle Ainsworth.

(Mrs Eleanor Ling (absent from photo) is also a Commission member. Ms Theresa Johnson, Law Draftsman (absent from photo), has replaced former Law Draftsman, Mr Paul Wan, on the Commission.)


For a list of former members of the Commission, see here.

跳到主要内容

身为法改会主席的律政司司长、终审法院首席法官及法律草拟专员都是法改会的当然成员。此外,行政长官会委任多名其他成员,当中通常有一位高等法院或终审法院的法官,其余的不仅有学术界人士和执业律师,还有法律界以外的社会知名人士。法改会自1980年成立以来,除了当然成员外,一共有94人出任法改会成员。

与其他法律改革机构相比,香港法律改革委员会的独特之处在于部分成员并非法律界人士。法律改革的大部分工作固然涉及专门的法律问题,但法律以外的知识和观点在几乎所有研究范畴中都有用武之地。法改会希望透过罗致各界精英于其麾下,以他们广泛的社会经验来配合必需的法律专业知识进行法律改革工作。法改会的每项研究工作均已贯彻这项原则。

法律改革委员会的现任成员名单如下:

当然成员
林定国先生, SBS, SC, JP, 律政司司长(主席)
张举能首席法官, 大紫荆勋贤, 终审法院首席法官
林少忠先生,法律草拟专员
非当然成员
林文瀚法官,终审法院常任法官
谭允芝资深大律师,SBS,JP
陈淑薇女士,SBS,JP,新闻教育基金主席
陈清汉教授,香港城市大学法律学院院长
邬枫教授,香港中文大学法律学院院长
傅华伶教授,香港大学法律学院院长
熊运信先生,李伟斌律师行合伙人
蔡关颖琴女士,BBS,MH,JP,新华集团顾问及法律总监
陈泽铭先生,香港律师会会长
梁高美懿女士,SBS,JP,汇丰集团前工商业务环球联席主管,恒生银行有限公司前副董事长兼行政总裁

律政专员黄惠冲资深大律师,JP是法律改革委员会秘书长。副首席政府律师梁东华先生和署理副首席政府律师冯淑芬女士分别是法律改革委员会副秘书长1和法律改革委员会副秘书长2。